Star Trek homeSkip to main content
SearchGo To Dashboard

Star Trek: Strange New Worlds Cast Reveals the Characters They Portray

Welcome old friends and new faces to the Enterprise

Anson Mount as Captain Pike in Star Trek: Strange New Worlds.

Paramount+, the streaming service from ViacomCBS, today revealed which characters the previously announced cast members Jess Bush, Christina Chong, Celia Rose Gooding, Melissa Navia and Babs Olusanmokun, along with the newly announced Bruce Horak, will portray in the upcoming original series Star Trek: Strange New Worlds, alongside series stars Anson Mount (Captain Christopher Pike), Rebecca Romijn (Number One), and Ethan Peck (Spock).

Their character names are as follows:

  • Jess Bush is Nurse Christine Chapel
  • Christina Chong is La’an Noonien-Singh
  • Celia Rose Gooding is Cadet Nyota Uhura
  • Melissa Navia is Lt. Erica Ortegas
  • Babs Olusanmokun is Dr. M’Benga
  • Bruce Horak is Hemmer

The announcement was made in a surprise video featuring the series’ cast during the Star Trek: Strange New Worlds panel that took place at today’s global live-streamed Star Trek Day celebration. The Star Trek: Strange New Worlds panel featured series stars Anson Mount, Rebecca Romijn, and Ethan Peck, and co-showrunners and executive producers, Akiva Goldsman and Henry Alonso Myers in a conversation with host Mica Burton.

Star Trek: Strange New Worlds Casting Announcement

The remaining Star Trek Day celebration panels are available to live-stream for free at

Star Trek: Strange New Worlds is based on the years Captain Christopher Pike manned the helm of the U.S.S. Enterprise. The series will feature fan favorites from season two of Star Trek: Discovery: Anson Mount as Captain Christopher Pike, Rebecca Romijn as Number One and Ethan Peck as Science Officer Spock. The series will follow Captain Pike, Science Officer Spock and Number One in the years before Captain Kirk boarded the U.S.S. Enterprise, as they explore new worlds around the galaxy.

The series premiere was written by Akiva Goldsman with the story by Akiva Goldsman, Alex Kurtzman and Jenny Lumet. Goldsman and Henry Alonso Myers serve as co-showrunners, with Goldsman directing the premiere episode. Goldsman, Kurtzman and Lumet serve as executive producers in addition to Alonso Myers, Heather Kadin, Frank Siracusa, John Weber, Rod Roddenberry, Trevor Roth and Aaron Baiers. Akela Cooper and Davy Perez serve as co-executive producers. The series is produced by CBS Studios, Secret Hideout and Roddenberry Entertainment.

Star Trek: Strange New Worlds will stream exclusively on Paramount+ in the U.S. and Latin America. In Canada, it will air on Bell Media’s CTV Sci-Fi Channel and stream on Crave.