ATTENTION: The Boards will be closed permanently on May 28th, 2014. Posting will be disabled on April 28th, 2014. More Info

The STO Help Thread

Mitchz95

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1830

Report this Jan. 22 2012, 3:45 pm

Now that STO has gone Free to Play, there are a lot of new players cruising through the galaxy. I've also noticed lots of inquiries about the workings of the game, both in these boards and in the game's chat.


I'm something of a veteran in the game, so if anybody has a question about STO, post it here and I'll get back to you ASAP. Or PM me in-game; I'm ThePsycoticVulcan.


And don't hesitate to add your own answers/ideas, too.


"The future is in the hands of those who explore... And from all the beauty they discover while crossing perpetually receding frontiers, they develop for nature and for humankind an infinite love." - Jacques Yves Cousteau

guillermo.mejía

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 2852

Report this Jan. 23 2012, 7:28 am

I actually have one. I was randomely in the sto website yesterday looking for the page were my characters ae displayed, but look as hard as I might, it was nowhere to be found. Was that feature of the website eliminated as part of the Perfect World purchase?


It was cool because it had a portrait of your character(s).


"Aye. And if my grandmother had wheels she'd be a wagon." - Scotty, The Miracle Worker since 2265.

Mitchz95

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1830

Report this Jan. 23 2012, 8:38 am

Yes, I think that got removed along with the Ships, Factions, and Timeline (which I think was pretty stupid, since now players won't have a good idea of what's happening in the STO universe).


If you enter the URL for one of those pages (ex: http://startrekonline.com/characters) you just get an error message: "Halt, Cadet! You've entered an area of the ship that no longer exists or has been warped to another dimension. Better head back before you end up lost in the Delta Quadrant."


"The future is in the hands of those who explore... And from all the beauty they discover while crossing perpetually receding frontiers, they develop for nature and for humankind an infinite love." - Jacques Yves Cousteau

guillermo.mejía

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 2852

Report this Jan. 23 2012, 10:57 am

well that's plain dumb.


I can understand the timeline however. There was a book that came out a year ago with the release and i can only assume it didn't sell well since it was just the "Path to 2409" timeline and jake sisko interviews that were free online.


Thanks anyway.

draeden06

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1217

Report this Jan. 30 2012, 6:06 pm

I just downloaded it yesterday. This is the first online game I have tried. Is it normal for it to take an hour to download and another hour to load patches? I have never made through all the patches before my computer goes to sleep. When I wake up my computer, the game wants to start all over with the patches. I have yet to see how you actually start the game. So far, I am not impressed. Please tell me this is a one time process. If it takes an hour to start the game every time I want to play it, I'm deleting it from my computer. Its a waste of memory.

Mitchz95

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1830

Report this Jan. 30 2012, 6:11 pm

Quote: draeden06 @ Jan. 30 2012, 6:06 pm

>

>I just downloaded it yesterday. This is the first online game I have tried. Is it normal for it to take an hour to download and another hour to load patches? I have never made through all the patches before my computer goes to sleep. When I wake up my computer, the game wants to start all over with the patches. I have yet to see how you actually start the game. So far, I am not impressed. Please tell me this is a one time process. If it takes an hour to start the game every time I want to play it, I'm deleting it from my computer. Its a waste of memory.

>


It does take a while to download and patch initially, but once you have it ready from then on it will only take a few seconds to patch (~1-5 minutes if the game has been updated since you last logged on). I would recommend disabling your computer's sleep mode until you've finished installing and patching.


"The future is in the hands of those who explore... And from all the beauty they discover while crossing perpetually receding frontiers, they develop for nature and for humankind an infinite love." - Jacques Yves Cousteau

Bigp00pz

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 18

Report this Feb. 02 2012, 2:52 pm

Hi, how many bridge officers can you have per rank/level?

Mitchz95

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1830

Report this Feb. 02 2012, 4:18 pm

You start out with three, then you unlock a fourth somewhere between there and Lieutenant Commander. You get a fifth slot at Captain, and a sixth at one of the Admiral Ranks. Sorry I can't be more specific than that; I hadn't really kept track of where I got them. Don't worry though, you'll always have enough Bridge Officers (Boffs) to fill all your ship slots.


"The future is in the hands of those who explore... And from all the beauty they discover while crossing perpetually receding frontiers, they develop for nature and for humankind an infinite love." - Jacques Yves Cousteau

OneDamnMinuteAdmiral

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1401

Report this Feb. 05 2012, 11:16 pm

I haven't really been giving it much thought aside from which one I like best, which I noticed has been cruisers so far, but does which ship you choose make any difference?


Are you sure it isn't time for a colorful metaphor?

Mitchz95

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1830

Report this Feb. 06 2012, 8:29 am

There are three lines of ships: cruisers (slow to turn, but have very good hull strength and lots of weapons slota), escorts (weak shields, but fast and maneuverable), and science vessels (sort of a mix - high shields, decent everything else). I use cruisers right now, but if I make another character I'm gonna try some escorts.


"The future is in the hands of those who explore... And from all the beauty they discover while crossing perpetually receding frontiers, they develop for nature and for humankind an infinite love." - Jacques Yves Cousteau

FleetAdmiral_BamBam

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 46304

Report this Feb. 22 2012, 5:33 pm

So I try to play tonight and after the game launches, everything on my computer gets real slow (including the game.)  I didn't have the problem before (and yes, my box is much better than the recommended system requirements, and no, I haven't done any changes to it since yesterday.)


Mitchz95

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1830

Report this Feb. 22 2012, 5:40 pm

Quote: FleetAdmiral_BamBam @ Feb. 22 2012, 5:33 pm

>

>So I try to play tonight and after the game launches, everything on my computer gets real slow (including the game.)  I didn't have the problem before (and yes, my box is much better than the recommended system requirements, and no, I haven't done any changes to it since yesterday.)

>


I encountered the same problem when I started out. My solution was to increase the amount of virtual memory your computer is allowed to access. If you don't know how to do that, I'll post the specific steps but it may be a while before I can.


In the meantime, try lowering the visual settings. If both fail, submit a help ticket.


"The future is in the hands of those who explore... And from all the beauty they discover while crossing perpetually receding frontiers, they develop for nature and for humankind an infinite love." - Jacques Yves Cousteau

FleetAdmiral_BamBam

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 46304

Report this Feb. 22 2012, 5:50 pm

Quote: Mitchz95 @ Feb. 22 2012, 5:40 pm

Quote: FleetAdmiral_BamBam @ Feb. 22 2012, 5:33 pm

>So I try to play tonight and after the game launches, everything on my computer gets real slow (including the game.)  I didn't have the problem before (and yes, my box is much better than the recommended system requirements, and no, I haven't done any changes to it since yesterday.)
I encountered the same problem when I started out. My solution was to increase the amount of virtual memory your computer is allowed to access. If you don't know how to do that, I'll post the specific steps but it may be a while before I can.

In the meantime, try lowering the visual settings. If both fail, submit a help ticket.

My box has 16GB of RAM. I'll increase the virtual memory and see what happens.  If that doesn't work, I'll try lowering the visual settings.


Still... I've ran the program for a couple of days without any problems and then today (after their server outage last night,) I'm having problems...


Mitchz95

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1830

Report this Feb. 22 2012, 5:57 pm

Quote: FleetAdmiral_BamBam @ Feb. 22 2012, 5:50 pm

>

>My box has 16GB of RAM. I'll increase the virtual memory and see what happens.  If that doesn't work, I'll try lowering the visual settings.

>Still... I've ran the program for a couple of days without any problems and then today (after their server outage last night,) I'm having problems...

>


The amount of memory the computer has is different somehow. I'm not really sure how, but it is.


And it was the same with me in regards to time: it worked fine for several days, then got screwed up.


"The future is in the hands of those who explore... And from all the beauty they discover while crossing perpetually receding frontiers, they develop for nature and for humankind an infinite love." - Jacques Yves Cousteau

FleetAdmiral_BamBam

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 46304

Report this Feb. 22 2012, 6:35 pm

Yea, I know.  I'm on a Windows 7 Ultimate x64 with 2GB of VRAM (ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2).  I doubled my virtual memory and even put it on another drive.  I've also lowered my visual settings and it didn't help much...

Forum Permissions

You cannot post new topics in this forum

You cannot reply to topics in this forum

You cannot delete posts in this forum