ATTENTION: The Boards will be closed permanently on May 28th, 2014. Posting will be disabled on April 28th, 2014. More Info

Why Were There So Many Different Bridges On The Enterprise Refit?

NCC1701RS

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 109

Report this Aug. 16 2010, 9:45 pm

Why Were There So Many Different Bridges On The Enterprise Refit?


"Let's make sure that history never forgets the name... Enterprise"

Kesfan74656

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1119

Report this Aug. 16 2010, 9:57 pm

Well, I read somewhere that the bridge module-if you look at this from an in-universe perspective, as I assume you mean-is something that can be 'plugged in' to the saucer, and removed easily at drydock. Is it canon? Dunno. But, this allows for an easier swapout of upgrades to the key command-control systems, as technology advances.  And, of course, there was what, about fourteen years between the original refit, and 1701-A...and another eight between then, and STXI...the Enterprise-D only went through one, of course, between the last ep of TNG, and Generations....Three, back on the 1701 during the Pike/Kirk shakedown/remaining misssions.....


''If I were captain, i'd open every crack in the universe, and peek inside, just like Captain Janeway does''-Kes, ''The Cloud''

williamslakesm

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1165

Report this Aug. 16 2010, 10:03 pm

What bothers me more is the bridge refit to the Bird of Prey/ Bounty between Star Trek 3 and 4. Did they really need to do that much of an overhaul for one trip home?

2takesfrakes

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 3683

Report this Aug. 16 2010, 10:13 pm

williamslakesm


The answer, of course, is no ... they didn't. That's the power of a director, for you. It's also why the bridges changed so much on ENTERPRISE. It's almost like the director feels the art director has to justify his job, by having him revamp every single set.


williamslakesm

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1165

Report this Aug. 17 2010, 7:48 am

Quote: 2takesfrakes @ Aug. 16 2010, 10:13 pm

williamslakesm

The answer, of course, is no ... they didn't. That's the power of a director, for you. It's also why the bridges changed so much on ENTERPRISE. It's almost like the director feels the art director has to justify his job, by having him revamp every single set.



Of course, we all know that, but that little revamp went way too far.......but while were on the Bridge moduals, did anyone notice that the turbo lifts were moved like 10 ft each between TMP and TWK?

johnd777

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1029

Report this Aug. 17 2010, 11:08 am

In TMP a bearded McCoy said it best when Shat convinced him to stay aboard... "I'll bet sickbay is completely different. You know engineers, they always love to change things."


Film producers too.


.

johnd777

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1029

Report this Aug. 17 2010, 11:10 am

Think of a novel (any novel) made into a movie. Granted books tell a story in a different way than movies do, but unneceary changes and adaptations almost always occur.


Film Producers. They are a breed of their own.


.

williamslakesm

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1165

Report this Aug. 17 2010, 12:35 pm

They just get more and more distance between them every movie. If they made about three more movis they'd probably be next to the viewscreen!

Kesfan74656

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1119

Report this Aug. 17 2010, 1:42 pm

Or they'd have to put on in the middle of the deck. LOL....


''If I were captain, i'd open every crack in the universe, and peek inside, just like Captain Janeway does''-Kes, ''The Cloud''

williamslakesm

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1165

Report this Aug. 17 2010, 10:42 pm

Okay I just checked the clips from TMP and TWOK and it looks like they just moved the science station from the middle of the turboshafts over to kirks right, and moved a station in there with some extra.Actually looks like they moved the turboshafts closer.......its been a few years since I've watched them.

Forum Permissions

You cannot post new topics in this forum

You cannot reply to topics in this forum

You cannot delete posts in this forum