ATTENTION: The Boards will be closed permanently on May 28th, 2014. Posting will be disabled on April 28th, 2014. More Info

Will my computer be able to play Star Trek Online?

dantheman1980

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 19

Report this Dec. 29 2009, 4:32 am

Hello everyone! I just bought a new computer, and was wondering if my computer will be able to play STO, and if not, what will I have to do to my computer to get it to play STO when it is released. I have included the specs of my computer, as well as the minimum system requirements for STO as gathered off of their official website for the game. Thanks so much everyone, in advance, for your help!:)

Specs for my computer (eMachines EL1331G-01w):
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
CPU: AMD Athlon 2850e processor
Video: Nvidia GeForce 6150SE Integrated
Hard drive: 320 GB HDD
Memory: 2 GB DDR2 memory
Disc: DVD Super Multi-Drive
Network: High-Speed Internet Broadband Connection

Minimum system requirements for STO:
OS: Windows XP SP2 / Windows Vista / Windows 7 (32 or 64-bit)
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 1.8 Ghz or AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Memory: 1GB RAM
Video: NVIDIA GeForce 7950 / ATI Radeon X1800 / Intel HD Graphics
Sound: DirectX 9.0c Compatible Soundcard
DirectX: Version 9.0c or Higher
HDD: 10GB Free Disk Space
Network: Internet Broadband Connection Required
Disc: 6X DVD-ROM

BirdofPrey101

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 3896

Report this Dec. 29 2009, 1:16 pm

Quote (dantheman1980 @ Dec. 29 2009, 4:32 am)
Hello everyone! I just bought a new computer, and was wondering if my computer will be able to play STO, and if not, what will I have to do to my computer to get it to play STO when it is released. I have included the specs of my computer, as well as the minimum system requirements for STO as gathered off of their official website for the game. Thanks so much everyone, in advance, for your help!:)

Specs for my computer (eMachines EL1331G-01w):
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
CPU: AMD Athlon 2850e processor
Video: Nvidia GeForce 6150SE Integrated
Hard drive: 320 GB HDD
Memory: 2 GB DDR2 memory
Disc: DVD Super Multi-Drive
Network: High-Speed Internet Broadband Connection

Minimum system requirements for STO:
OS: Windows XP SP2 / Windows Vista / Windows 7 (32 or 64-bit)
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 1.8 Ghz or AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Memory: 1GB RAM
Video: NVIDIA GeForce 7950 / ATI Radeon X1800 / Intel HD Graphics
Sound: DirectX 9.0c Compatible Soundcard
DirectX: Version 9.0c or Higher
HDD: 10GB Free Disk Space
Network: Internet Broadband Connection Required
Disc: 6X DVD-ROM

I would definitely upgrade the GPU.

You can get a Nvidia 9800GT or a HD 5750 for a pretty good price right now.  Take note that when/if you do, you'll have to upgrade your power supply unit too.

Renaikan

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 11072

Report this Dec. 31 2009, 4:27 am

Quote (dantheman1980 @ Dec. 29 2009, 4:32 am)
Hello everyone! I just bought a new computer, and was wondering if my computer will be able to play STO, and if not, what will I have to do to my computer to get it to play STO when it is released. I have included the specs of my computer, as well as the minimum system requirements for STO as gathered off of their official website for the game. Thanks so much everyone, in advance, for your help!:)

Specs for my computer (eMachines EL1331G-01w):
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
CPU: AMD Athlon 2850e processor
Video: Nvidia GeForce 6150SE Integrated
Hard drive: 320 GB HDD
Memory: 2 GB DDR2 memory
Disc: DVD Super Multi-Drive
Network: High-Speed Internet Broadband Connection

Minimum system requirements for STO:
OS: Windows XP SP2 / Windows Vista / Windows 7 (32 or 64-bit)
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 1.8 Ghz or AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Memory: 1GB RAM
Video: NVIDIA GeForce 7950 / ATI Radeon X1800 / Intel HD Graphics
Sound: DirectX 9.0c Compatible Soundcard
DirectX: Version 9.0c or Higher
HDD: 10GB Free Disk Space
Network: Internet Broadband Connection Required
Disc: 6X DVD-ROM

Your machine will barely run the game. You will have tons of lag and the game will be choppy.

First off your video card is intergrated into your motherboard which is bad. It draws its memory from the 2 gig you currently have. You would have to upgrade your video. Do you have an open PCI express slot (Blue in color)? If not, an open AGP slot (Dark brown in color)? If so, you may be able to upgrade you video card, but you will also need to upgrade your power supply, as I bet it's only around 300 watts. Very important you contact E-Machines and ask them if you can upgrade your PSU. I know for a fact Dell computers you can not upgrade the PSU. Last thing you want is to fry your motherboard. For video card I would recommend at least a GeForce 8800 GT.

Also upgrading to 4 GB of RAM is best. You be lucky if you have 2 open slots for this. I bet you don't though, so you may need to get 2 sticks of 2 GB each.

For the cost of these three things it may not be worth it as your pc is around 400. Best to buy another pc or better yet, build your own.

Cyrain

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 26

Report this Jan. 10 2010, 7:50 pm

Quote (Renaikan @ Dec. 31 2009, 4:27 am)
Quote (dantheman1980 @ Dec. 29 2009, 4:32 am)
Hello everyone! I just bought a new computer, and was wondering if my computer will be able to play STO, and if not, what will I have to do to my computer to get it to play STO when it is released. I have included the specs of my computer, as well as the minimum system requirements for STO as gathered off of their official website for the game. Thanks so much everyone, in advance, for your help!:)

Specs for my computer (eMachines EL1331G-01w):
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
CPU: AMD Athlon 2850e processor
Video: Nvidia GeForce 6150SE Integrated
Hard drive: 320 GB HDD
Memory: 2 GB DDR2 memory
Disc: DVD Super Multi-Drive
Network: High-Speed Internet Broadband Connection

Minimum system requirements for STO:
OS: Windows XP SP2 / Windows Vista / Windows 7 (32 or 64-bit)
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo 1.8 Ghz or AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Memory: 1GB RAM
Video: NVIDIA GeForce 7950 / ATI Radeon X1800 / Intel HD Graphics
Sound: DirectX 9.0c Compatible Soundcard
DirectX: Version 9.0c or Higher
HDD: 10GB Free Disk Space
Network: Internet Broadband Connection Required
Disc: 6X DVD-ROM

Your machine will barely run the game. You will have tons of lag and the game will be choppy.

First off your video card is intergrated into your motherboard which is bad. It draws its memory from the 2 gig you currently have. You would have to upgrade your video. Do you have an open PCI express slot (Blue in color)? If not, an open AGP slot (Dark brown in color)? If so, you may be able to upgrade you video card, but you will also need to upgrade your power supply, as I bet it's only around 300 watts. Very important you contact E-Machines and ask them if you can upgrade your PSU. I know for a fact Dell computers you can not upgrade the PSU. Last thing you want is to fry your motherboard. For video card I would recommend at least a GeForce 8800 GT.

Also upgrading to 4 GB of RAM is best. You be lucky if you have 2 open slots for this. I bet you don't though, so you may need to get 2 sticks of 2 GB each.

For the cost of these three things it may not be worth it as your pc is around 400. Best to buy another pc or better yet, build your own.

Agrees, Always get a discrete GPU when wanting to game.

Naruto365

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 419

Report this Jan. 14 2010, 3:48 pm

I Highly Doubt It. Your CPU And GPU Are Very Bad. I Would Upgrade At Least Your GPU If You Want Any Chance Of It Running.

8800GT's Are Very Cheap Right Now And Are The Best Bang For Your Buck. They Can Also Run Anything Fairly Well. Get a GTS 250 If You Can. Costs Only A Little More Than The 8800GT And Is Even Better.

FieldMarshalFrost

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 194

Report this Jan. 14 2010, 8:04 pm

I think your best bet would be to go shell out the cash for a better PC. Walmart has some awesome sales right now, I believe they have a nationwide one on an E Machines desktop with a 750gb HDD, 4gb DDR2 RAM, an Intel Turion X2 Ultra Processor. Don't remember anything about video etc.

Naruto365

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 419

Report this Jan. 15 2010, 7:21 am

Quote (FieldMarshalFrost @ Jan. 14 2010, 8:04 pm)
I think your best bet would be to go shell out the cash for a better PC. Walmart has some awesome sales right now, I believe they have a nationwide one on an E Machines desktop with a 750gb HDD, 4gb DDR2 RAM, an Intel Turion X2 Ultra Processor. Don't remember anything about video etc.

Intel Doesn't Make Turions. Thats AMD. And Even Those Are Pretty Bad . ¿:honorable:

JeanLucPicard1701E

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 298

Report this Feb. 07 2010, 3:09 pm

Question: I have an older computer. Would I need more memory? or graphics card (or whatever it is called)? I am computer illiterate.

spacemonster

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 2423

Report this Feb. 14 2010, 8:59 pm

Quote (JeanLucPicard1701E @ Feb. 06 2010, 4:09 pm)
Question: I have an older computer. Would I need more memory? or graphics card (or whatever it is called)? I am computer illiterate.

Specs?  Biggest issue is the graphics card.  An integrated card, which usually is what always comes on a budget system, is inadequate regardless of your memory, CPU, and what not.

CovaLue

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 64

Report this Feb. 16 2010, 12:15 pm

TagerDirect.com has some good sells on computer kits, dual core and quads both.

CovaLue

Forum Permissions

You cannot post new topics in this forum

You cannot reply to topics in this forum

You cannot delete posts in this forum