ATTENTION: The Boards will be closed permanently on May 28th, 2014. Posting will be disabled on April 28th, 2014. More Info

Is Legacy for PC better with the patches?

nelsonbaggins

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 30

Report this Jul. 14 2008, 8:42 am

Now that Legacy for Windows is down around 15 bucks I'm really considering grabbing it.  I have a 360 controller for my PC so that's no problem, but I wondered if anyone has played the game since it's been patched?  It got horrible reviews due to it's poor controls and other issues.  If anyone has played the patched version could I please get an update?  Thanks!

CaptDennyCrane

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 5573

Report this Jul. 14 2008, 12:37 pm

Make sure you have a top of the line processor, lots and lots of RAM and a heavy duty video board - the game is resource heavy like crazy. As for mods, get the Ultimate Universe Mod for it.

Legacy does not allow you to save your game mid-mission so if you fail a mission, you have to redo it from teh very beginning of that mission to progress further. and there are a couple of missions that almost unsolvable and after playing through them a dozen times, it wont be long before your toss it out the window.

The Ultimate Universe Mod, allows you not only to save mid-mission, but also allows you to level-skip (play any mission out of sequence) for those "enough-i've-had-with-this-mission" missions. and also provides you with new ships as well and other features, but the level skip alone is worth the large download.

Once you apply this mod, there is no going back without an uninstall and reinstall

CaptDennyCrane

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 5573

Report this Jul. 15 2008, 2:59 pm

Quote (starbase63 @ July 15 2008, 2:57 pm)
I found out about the processor deal, got a new DVD drive to play the game with, but the processor just doesn't have the cajones to run the game well.

:logical:

I ran it on a 3.3GHz processor, 1MB DDR RAM and 256 Video and could still only play it in 800x600 mode with a minimum of choppiness - no where near the smooth rate of seeing it on a console.

Anything above 800x600 on my setup, and it was like watching a clock tick away. What really sucked is that there is no native joystick support and if you dont have a controller, you HAD to use WASD

curtst

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 146

Report this Jul. 19 2008, 9:19 pm

Has anyone got the control options to save?  I am so tired of having to go to options and inverting the control scheme.

Vice_Adm_Baxter

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 0

Report this Jul. 20 2008, 11:03 am

Quote (CaptDennyCrane @ July 15 2008, 11:59 am)
Quote (starbase63 @ July 15 2008, 2:57 pm)
I found out about the processor deal, got a new DVD drive to play the game with, but the processor just doesn't have the cajones to run the game well.

:logical:

I ran it on a 3.3GHz processor, 1MB DDR RAM and 256 Video and could still only play it in 800x600 mode with a minimum of choppiness - no where near the smooth rate of seeing it on a console.

Anything above 800x600 on my setup, and it was like watching a clock tick away. What really sucked is that there is no native joystick support and if you dont have a controller, you HAD to use WASD

I run it on a 3.0 Pentium 4 w/HT 1 GB ram and a 512mb Nvidia GeForce 8500 and it runs good. If I had another GB of RAM im sure most of my issuses would be sovled.

I am Runing the Trek Battles 2 mod FYI

nelsonbaggins

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 30

Report this Jul. 21 2008, 9:38 am

Thanks for the responses, especially about the mods.  I'll definitely be sure to grab those when I get it.  I'm running a 1.66Ghz Core 2 Duo with 2GB RAM and a GeForce 8600GT so I think it should run fine.  I've also got a 360 controller so hopefully it will mimic the console pretty closely.  I just wish PC's weren't the red headed step-children of the games industry right now so I wouldn't have to ask these questions.

CaptDennyCrane

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 5573

Report this Jul. 21 2008, 9:57 am

Quote (curtst @ July 19 2008, 9:19 pm)
Has anyone got the control options to save?  I am so tired of having to go to options and inverting the control scheme.

I never had a problem with saved options - then again, using the UU mod might have fixed that, if it was a problem raw out of the box

gsmcnabb

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1

Report this Jul. 27 2008, 10:22 pm

Hello all, and thank you in advance.  I've been a lurker here for a bit, but this is my first post.  Now, on to my reason for posting.

I have Star Trek: Legacy for the PC.  I also have the Ultimate Universe mod installed.  My question is, is it possible to use a controller such as the XBox 360 controller or a joystick in Legacy?  I have tried both, but they do nothing in the game it seems, although they function with other games, etc.  I see people on here mention having the 360 gamepad, but never a direct mention of using it in Legacy.

CaptDennyCrane

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 5573

Report this Jul. 27 2008, 11:57 pm

I dont know if the UU Mod allows for game controller playability - the game itself was never programmed with joystick support for the PC version, so its doubtful the UU mod would have changed that.

killallewoks

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 3589

Report this Aug. 05 2008, 10:57 am

Get the 360 version full of class and easy to use.

CaptDennyCrane

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 5573

Report this Aug. 05 2008, 11:13 am

Quote (killallewoks @ Aug. 05 2008, 10:57 am)
Get the 360 version full of class and easy to use.

Cant modify the config file to make impossible missions more possible...("I reprogrammed the simulation so it was possible to save the ship")...and cant add mods to the console versions

Vice_Adm_Baxter

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 0

Report this Aug. 05 2008, 2:10 pm

Quote (CaptDennyCrane @ Aug. 05 2008, 8:13 am)
Quote (killallewoks @ Aug. 05 2008, 10:57 am)
Get the 360 version full of class and easy to use.

Cant modify the config file to make impossible missions more possible...("I reprogrammed the simulation so it was possible to save the ship")...and cant add mods to the console versions

Very true and with the 360 version once the campaign is done and you have played the computer with the limited ships they give you, it ends up being a waste of money.

At least with the PC version you can add some mods which really do transform the game into something truly beautiful!

Forum Permissions

You cannot post new topics in this forum

You cannot reply to topics in this forum

You cannot delete posts in this forum