ATTENTION: The Boards will be closed permanently on May 28th, 2014. Posting will be disabled on April 28th, 2014. More Info

Your Bridge

JazH

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1849

Report this Apr. 22 2005, 4:05 pm

Quote (HL @ April 21 2005, 6:04 am)
The instanced bridge occurs at the beginning of the game on an NPC ship.  Not later when you become captain.

Does that mean player ships/guild ships will not have instanced bridges... Or wont have multiple instances bridges?

--------------
Star Trek Online Universe - The First Ever STO FanSite
StarTrekOnlineUniverse.com

Sirol

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 13

Report this Apr. 22 2005, 4:20 pm

PC ships will have one bridge.  NPC ships will have instanced bridges.

JazH

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1849

Report this Apr. 22 2005, 4:25 pm

Quote (Sirol @ April 21 2005, 9:20 pm)
PC ships will have one bridge.  NPC ships will have instanced bridges.

It may not be..

I presume all bridges will be instanced.... <-- As player ships could get very busy, its logical to think that the bridge will be instanced from the main ship.

And NPC ships have MULTIPLE bridges/engineering instancing on one ship.

--------------
Star Trek Online Universe - The First Ever STO FanSite
StarTrekOnlineUniverse.com

Sirol

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 13

Report this Apr. 22 2005, 4:39 pm

My response is how I interpreted Harry's post.  And the way I am reading your post, it seems we may have differing definitions of what an "instance" is.

To me, an instance is a duplicate of a zone which holds a different set of players.  For example, in EQII, when zoning from, say Freeport to Commonlands, you may get a box that lists "The Commonlands" and "The Commonlands 2", both being instances of The Commonlands and having different players in both.

Using my definition, am I correct in assuming that you're asking if the bridge will be a separate "zone" from the rest of a PC ship, and that an NPC ship will have "multiple zones" (i.e. instances) of the bridge?

If that's not what you mean, then please, help me out.

Sirol

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 13

Report this Apr. 22 2005, 4:48 pm

Getting back to the question, assuming that engineers will be able to design starships, or aspects of them (i.e. the bridge), then when a CO should be stuck with the stock design until s/he contacts the engineer to customize their bridge.  This gives the engineers more ways of earning experience than just fixing the warp core (and I'm exaggerating; I'm willing to bet they'll be able to do far more than that at release).

JazH

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1849

Report this Apr. 22 2005, 5:12 pm

There was a much detailed discussion on STOU forums with the devs regarding instancing on bridges.

In past developer posts and such. Its been said that ships in general will have instanced parts (definition being.. Seperate for the ship in terms of cojoined environment) such as bridges and engineering.

Earlier this week it was said that NPC ships will have multiple bridge instances in the early part of the game..for 1 ship. So for example, there will be more instances of a bridge than 1 <- Which is normal for an mmo.

I just need clarification on the instancing of bridges on Player controlled ships. Will the bridge still be instanced (though not multiple instanced as NPC ships are)?

STOCaptain01

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1369

Report this Apr. 22 2005, 9:03 pm

Well we have a bit over a year so this will most likely change. But I hope on PC ships have you guys have told me, there will not be multiple bridges. Would be kinda wierd to have 6 captains on your own ship....

Antic

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 131

Report this Apr. 22 2005, 9:07 pm

yeah. perpetual already answered the bridge instance question in multiple threads :) Happy to hear that player ships wont have instancing.

STOCaptain01

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1369

Report this Apr. 22 2005, 11:56 pm

Yeah I would hate for this to happen...

(im the captain) I walk to the bridge. Then I slam into the door because it wont open. I find out that theres too many people inside. THen I hear music....Party! Without the captain.

....Borg Cube comes out of warp.............

The End.

That would be messy....

JazH

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1849

Report this Apr. 23 2005, 8:03 am

Quote (Antic @ April 22 2005, 2:07 am)
yeah. perpetual already answered the bridge instance question in multiple threads :) Happy to hear that player ships wont have instancing.

No I dont think they've said that... From what I read...they're saying PC ships wont have MULTIPLE bridge instancing..

But will a PC ships bridge be instanced?... Not in terms of normal instancing...but a "load up" to the bridge to reduce shipwide lag.

STOCaptain01

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1369

Report this Apr. 23 2005, 11:21 am

Im guessing they will instance it in the way of loading, because a lot of action happens in the bridge.

CaptainJEHughes

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 10

Report this Apr. 24 2005, 8:17 am

A bridge on a player ship likely will be able to have restricted access to command crew or those invited onto the bridge, and wont have multiple bridges.

JazH

GROUP: Members

POSTS: 1849

Report this Apr. 24 2005, 10:47 am

Quote (CaptainJEHughes @ April 23 2005, 1:17 pm)
A bridge on a player ship likely will be able to have restricted access to command crew or those invited onto the bridge, and wont have multiple bridges.

Well, ive never heard of the restriction.... But They WONT have multiple bridges on PLAYER SHIPS

Forum Permissions

You cannot post new topics in this forum

You cannot reply to topics in this forum

You cannot delete posts in this forum